The fifth day - Reisverslag uit Yarmouth, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Jacey McKeown - WaarBenJij.nu The fifth day - Reisverslag uit Yarmouth, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Jacey McKeown - WaarBenJij.nu

The fifth day

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Jacey

29 April 2015 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Yarmouth

So today was a day I never could have seen coming. I thought I had an idea of what the day would be about but I know now that it's always a surprise over here.

When we were at the reception again to meet Steve, he told us that today would be a day at The Country Club in the sports department. That was one thing I wouldn't expect to happen, as I wrote in my last post, I thought we would be doing Maintenance today. So we went to The Country Club and met Launey and Otis at the reception. They were really nice to us. Launey told us that we would be spending the day with Otis. So Otis showed us around, he showed us all the sport areas, the swimming pool, and the fitness area. He was really nice to us and he was really open and relaxed to us. I felt really comfortable around him. He told us a lot, like really meaningful stuff. He told us stories about his difficult past in Jamaica and it all really opened my eyes. He talked a lot, almost all the time but it didn't matter because I was never so inspired by someone before. Because of him I now see how important education really is, he told us that many times. We are blessed that we have this opportunity he said. To take our lives in our own hands and achieve our own goals. All he said was just so inspirational and interesting and he was so easy to talk to. I kind of felt like I knew him for a very long time. He also told us about this saying his teacher always told him: "Why be a leaf when you can be the tree?" This saying is just so inspirational and motivational. Like I won't explain it because you have to think about it for yourself but it all really makes sense now. I've never met someone so genuine and full of good energy like Otis. But I'm so so glad that I did. Because he told me and learned me things about life, about being yourself and about dreams and visions that someone could never teach me in school or in any other job experience. I will remember this for the rest of my life. And again, I'm so glad I've met a person like him.

When we finished the day, we said our last goodbyes to Otis and I really hope that I'll see him again. Maybe next year or maybe tomorrow or something like that.

The rest of the day was just a chilling out day. We went to the gym and ate a pizza at our cottage. And later we watched a movie.

Let's see what tomorrow brings.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Jacey

Actief sinds 14 April 2015
Verslag gelezen: 182
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2855

Voorgaande reizen:

25 April 2015 - 05 Mei 2015

Internship at The West Bay Club in England

Landen bezocht: